On legal issues with bots and research

Discussion about everything RO and OpenKore related. This place is NOT for ANY kind of support questions.

Moderator: Moderators

obernardo
Noob
Noob
Noob?: Yes

On legal issues with bots and research

#1 Post by obernardo »

Hi all! I don't know if this is the proper place to ask this, so please be gentle to move the topic to where it is most suitable.

I am a noob to OpenKore, though I have been tweaking with AI recently, and having found this good library I thought about creating some AI to Ragnarok and experimenting with it. Since my goals are for making research, I'd like to know if there is some server where bots are allowed (or nor prohibited) and if there would be legal issues with the guys from Gravity or any other company. It seems to me that mostly botters who are discovered are at most expelled from the server (is that right?). However, when it comes to publications, legal issues should arise if there were any problem...

<edit> Could any of shed a light upon this issue? <\edit>

(if I happen to implement this AI for Ragnarok, I will of course commit everything - if I am allowed to - once the experiments are finished)

Technology
Super Moderators
Super Moderators
Noob?: No

Re: On legal issues with bots and research

#2 Post by Technology »

You are allowed to bot on Kore RO.
If you are interrested in AI, you might want to check out the AI 2008 project.
One ST0 to rule them all? One PE viewer to find them!
One ST_kRO to bring them all and in the darkness bind them...

Mount Doom awaits us, fellowship of OpenKore!

sli
Perl Monk
Perl Monk

#3 Post by sli »

You might really, really also want to check out the collection of AI ebooks I uploaded recently.