aggressives_minDistance please

This section is created for developers and non-developers who think that he/she has a good (and realistic) idea that might contribute to the OpenKore community.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
Engydoggy
Human
Human
Posts: 33
Joined: 12 Jul 2008, 06:14
Noob?: Yes

aggressives_minDistance please

#1 Post by Engydoggy »

I would like to ask for a feature that'd keep a bot away from aggressives around it. I know there's the runfromtarget and runfromtarget_dist, but it only takes into account the monster that is being attacked.

Perhaps with this it will calculate an "escape route" between monsters currently running towards the bot and try to avoid them. It's not the same as runfromtarget, because you wouldn't have to be attacking a monsters for this option to trigger.

It would help greatly with leveling up ranged characters in static monster maps. When the bot sees a geographer for example, it will know not to come X distance from it, if it seems more than one, it will calculate a spot where it's not closer than X tiles from any of the monsters.

For example:
aggressives_minDistanceMonster Geographer
aggressives_minDistance 7

Maybe also aggressives_minDistanceMonsterNumber, so if you have it set up to run away from a specific fast monster, but it sees more than that amount, it teles away.

aggressives_minDistanceMonster *insert fast monster name* (too sleepy to remember one)
aggressives_minDistance 12
aggressives_minDistanceMonsterNumber 6

If it sees more than 6 of the monster running towards it, it teles away, because no matter what, those 6 will kill the bot before he gets a chance to kill enough to handle.

Mostly an option set for ranged characters, but it's kinda hard already to configure for them :O

What do you think? Too hard? useless? not needed?

Bibian
Perl Monk
Perl Monk
Posts: 416
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 03:08

Re: aggressives_minDistance please

#2 Post by Bibian »

thats WAY too complex to code and not to mention it would take a great deal of cpu cycles to calculate this for all monsters on screen

Engydoggy
Human
Human
Posts: 33
Joined: 12 Jul 2008, 06:14
Noob?: Yes

Re: aggressives_minDistance please

#3 Post by Engydoggy »

Add another setting for max number of monsters to calculate an escape route?

aggressives_minDistanceMax 4

Would only calculate an escape route from the nearest 4 monsters. You can modify the number depending on your processor speed?

Meh, just dreaming I guess. It does sound complicated but it'd be nice, eh? ;)

lyfgoeson0
Noob
Noob
Posts: 15
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 05:49
Noob?: Yes

Re: aggressives_minDistance please

#4 Post by lyfgoeson0 »

Engydoggy wrote:I would like to ask for a feature that'd keep a bot away from aggressives around it. I know there's the runfromtarget and runfromtarget_dist, but it only takes into account the monster that is being attacked.

Perhaps with this it will calculate an "escape route" between monsters currently running towards the bot and try to avoid them. It's not the same as runfromtarget, because you wouldn't have to be attacking a monsters for this option to trigger.

It would help greatly with leveling up ranged characters in static monster maps. When the bot sees a geographer for example, it will know not to come X distance from it, if it seems more than one, it will calculate a spot where it's not closer than X tiles from any of the monsters.

For example:
aggressives_minDistanceMonster Geographer
aggressives_minDistance 7

Maybe also aggressives_minDistanceMonsterNumber, so if you have it set up to run away from a specific fast monster, but it sees more than that amount, it teles away.

aggressives_minDistanceMonster *insert fast monster name* (too sleepy to remember one)
aggressives_minDistance 12
aggressives_minDistanceMonsterNumber 6

If it sees more than 6 of the monster running towards it, it teles away, because no matter what, those 6 will kill the bot before he gets a chance to kill enough to handle.

Mostly an option set for ranged characters, but it's kinda hard already to configure for them :O

What do you think? Too hard? useless? not needed?
Can it attack a character when i type the class?
LIke this

aggressives_minDistanceMonster Wizard
aggressives_minDistance 7

?
Sorry If Im wrong

Engydoggy
Human
Human
Posts: 33
Joined: 12 Jul 2008, 06:14
Noob?: Yes

Re: aggressives_minDistance please

#5 Post by Engydoggy »

Dude, this is an OLD suggestion by me that was denied. It's not even in the bot -_-U

RockwellRyan
Noob
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Oct 2008, 06:27
Noob?: Yes
Location: Ortigas, Pasig City

Re: aggressives_minDistance please

#6 Post by RockwellRyan »

It's too complex for programmers. :lol:
Always be a blessing to anybody and always try to see good in everyone.

sli
Perl Monk
Perl Monk
Posts: 810
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 17:26
Noob?: No

Re: aggressives_minDistance please

#7 Post by sli »

Bibian wrote:thats WAY too complex to code and not to mention it would take a great deal of cpu cycles to calculate this for all monsters on screen
You mean for every monster within search distance. The distances to each monster are already tracked, all the bot would need to do is simply move away. Basically, you're making it more complicated than it needs to be.
cs : ee : realist

Bibian
Perl Monk
Perl Monk
Posts: 416
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 03:08

Re: aggressives_minDistance please

#8 Post by Bibian »

sli wrote:
Bibian wrote:thats WAY too complex to code and not to mention it would take a great deal of cpu cycles to calculate this for all monsters on screen
You mean for every monster within search distance. The distances to each monster are already tracked, all the bot would need to do is simply move away. Basically, you're making it more complicated than it needs to be.
the bot will get stuck if it has no where to go then... the idea is good, but the execution will make the bot run into a lot of problems

sli
Perl Monk
Perl Monk
Posts: 810
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 17:26
Noob?: No

Re: aggressives_minDistance please

#9 Post by sli »

That would be true if you learned how to write software at the prestigious Super-Mega-If-It-Fails-Do-Nothing-Else Programming Preschool.
cs : ee : realist

Post Reply