Run multiple bots from the same .exe

Do you have a question or problem? Read this forum first! Someone has probably already asked the same thing in the past. Do not ASK questions here!

Moderators: Moderators, Documentation Writers

Message
Author
Cozzie
Spam Generator
Spam Generator
Posts: 499
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 09:30
Noob?: No
Location: Melbourne, City of beer and awful sushis

Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#1 Post by Cozzie »

If you run a lot of bots you may wish to run many bots from the same folder. It's easier to stay up to date with the latest code, and might save you hard drive space if you have a small hard drive.

This is done by specifying certain command line parameters (options) which are available. You may wish to create a shortcut to your bot first, then open the shortcut properties and add these parameters there. (easiest way)

Folder options:

These are the available options which are listed when you run the bot with the --help parameter:
  • --control=path
    path is the path for the control folder.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --control=bot1/control to store control files in D:\Kore\bot1\control
  • --tables=path
    path is the path for the tables folder.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --tables=bot1/bot_tables to store table files in D:\Kore\bot_tables
  • --logs=path
    path is the path for the logs folder.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --logs=bot1/logs to store table files in D:\Kore\bot1\logs
  • --plugins=path
    path is the path for the plugins folder.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --plugins=bot1/plugins to store plugin files in D:\Kore\bot1\plugins
  • --fields=path
    path is the path for the fields folder.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --fields=bot1/bot_fields to store plugin files in D:\Kore\bot_fields
Specific file options:

There are also some specific files which you can specify using the command line:
  • --config=path/file
    path/file specifies which config.txt to use.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --config=control\config_1.txt to to use the config file D:\Kore\control\config_1.txt
  • --mon_control=path/file
    path/file specifies which mon_control.txt to use.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --mon_control=control\mon_control_2.txt to to use the mon_control file D:\Kore\control\mon_control_2.txt
  • --items_control=path/file
    path/file specifies which items_control.txt to use.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --items_control=control\items_control_0.txt to to use the items_control file D:\Kore\control\items_control_0.txt
  • --pickupitems=path/file
    path/file specifies which pickupitems.txt to use.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --pickupitems=control\pickupitems_all.txt to to use the pickupitems file D:\Kore\control\pickupitems_all.txt
  • --chat=path/file
    path/file specifies which chat.txt to use.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --chat=control\chat_7_25.txt to log chat in the file D:\Kore\control\chat_7_25.txt
  • --shop=path/file
    path/file specifies which shop.txt to use.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --shop=control\shop_merch1.txt to to use the shop file D:\Kore\control\shop_merch1.txt
  • --monsters=path/file
    path/file specifies which monsters.txt to use.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --monsters=control\monsters_iz_dun.txt to log monsters killed in the file D:\Kore\control\monsters_iz_dun.txt
  • --items=path/file
    path/file specifies which items.txt to use.
    Example: if your bot folder is D:\Kore\, put --items=control\items_in_sphinx.txt to log items picked up in the file D:\Kore\control\items_in_sphinx.txt
Interface option:

This command line allows you to specify which interface to use at startup:
  • --interface=module
    module is the name of the Perl module for the interface. Check your src\Interface folder for available interface modules.
    Example: if you want to use the console interface when you run wxstart.exe, put
    --interface=Console
    Note: If you are using the compiled Perl interpreter (e.g. start.exe) you must ensure that the application supports the interface you want to use. For example, wxstart.exe is for Wx, vxstart.exe for Vx, and so on. You can use the "Console" interface using any interpreter.

Usage:

So to use the options just put them into your shortcut. Example:

Code: Select all

D:\Kore\start.exe --control=bot1/control --logs=bot1/logs


Just make shortcuts like these, each for a different bot settings folder, and you're done. All you really need is control and logs, so I use this with my own bots.


Original Post by hakore from here. which is based on a post by Joseph
Make Openkore Awesome. Join the team.

Cozzie
Spam Generator
Spam Generator
Posts: 499
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 09:30
Noob?: No
Location: Melbourne, City of beer and awful sushis

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#2 Post by Cozzie »

Reserved
Make Openkore Awesome. Join the team.

xxklashxx
Noob
Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 11:07

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#3 Post by xxklashxx »

Hello. I can't understand what do those codes mean. Can you make a step-by-step procedure of how it works? Thanks.

Cozzie
Spam Generator
Spam Generator
Posts: 499
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 09:30
Noob?: No
Location: Melbourne, City of beer and awful sushis

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#4 Post by Cozzie »

yeah i will update it, but dont expect it to be up so soon as there are many other more important threads to be migrated first before refining of guides can start.

At the moment just try and use google to help you understand. It isnt really that hard =) You learn a lot that way, so it's not a waste of time. Good luck!
Make Openkore Awesome. Join the team.

xxklashxx
Noob
Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 11:07

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#5 Post by xxklashxx »

Ok. I'll wait. Thanks.

iamanoob
Plain Yogurt
Plain Yogurt
Posts: 82
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 09:49

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#6 Post by iamanoob »

i dont have the Perl interpreter but i use

E:\KORE\start.exe -control="botter"

Right click on folder > New > Shortcut
locate your openkore exe (start.exe) and click OK

Code: Select all

E:\KORE\start.exe
(E:\KORE is my openkore folder)
if your config folder with timeouts.txt,config.txt,macros.txt..etccc..... is
named as 'imbotting'

add...

Code: Select all

-control="imbotting"

Code: Select all

E:\KORE\start.exe -control="imbotting"
and your done
if you want to multipy that
copy paste that shortcut
right click on the exe shortcut > Properties
On the Shortcut Tab
on the Target box
replace that 'imbotting' to the folder you want to bot

-control
-tables
-src (dont know about this...)

just an idea...
Image
DARKest Ninja

fco2783
Plain Yogurt
Plain Yogurt
Posts: 95
Joined: 05 Apr 2008, 05:15
Noob?: Yes
Location: in place where you cant go
Contact:

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#7 Post by fco2783 »

Image

Krai
Been there done that!
Been there done that!
Posts: 106
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 16:23
Noob?: Yes
Location: The Bay

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#8 Post by Krai »

fco2783 wrote:Image
wow, did you just make that or did you get the image from somewhere previously?
Don't Get Owned! Do Your Research First.
The Manual | Packet Extractor | Use Macros | Server Info Guide | Old Forum
You got banned? Krai me a fuckin river..

sli
Perl Monk
Perl Monk
Posts: 811
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 17:26
Noob?: No

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#9 Post by sli »

I know exactly how this all works but even I got confused when I saw that tutorial image. Wow.
cs : ee : realist

sli
Perl Monk
Perl Monk
Posts: 811
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 17:26
Noob?: No

Re: Run multiple bots from the same .exe

#10 Post by sli »

Cross-platform launchers I use for the bot. These could be nicer, but they work the way they are. Also, when using my exitOnError patch, the bot will automatically restart itself if it crashes.

Code: Select all

import os

Char = 'Flipkick'

while 1:
    if os.name == 'winnt': os.system('openkore --config=control/config-' + Char + '.txt')
    else: os.system('perl ./openkore.pl --config=control/config-' + Char + '.txt')
You can do it in Perl, too.

Code: Select all

my $Char = "Flipkick";

while (1) {
	if ($^O == "MSWin32") {
		system("openkore --config=control/config-" . $Char . ".txt");
	} else {
		system("perl ./openkore.pl --config=control/config-" . $Char . ".txt");
	}
}
Batch

Code: Select all

:bot
openkore --config=control/config-Flipkick.txt
goto bot
Shell

Code: Select all

while [ 1 ]
do
	perl ./openkore.pl --config=control/config-Flipkick.txt
done
Ruby

Code: Select all

Char = "Flipkick"

while 1
	if RUBY_PLATFORM[-7, 7] == "mswin32" then
		system("openkore --config=control/config-" + Char + ".txt")
	else
		system("perl ./openkore.pl --config=control/config-" + Char + ".txt")
	end
end
I got bored.
cs : ee : realist

Locked