Perl, packets, packing and unpacking. I'm a Perl newbie

Forum closed. All further discussion to be discussed at https://github.com/OpenKore/

Moderator: Moderators

James1987
Noob
Noob
Noob?: No

Perl, packets, packing and unpacking. I'm a Perl newbie

#1 Post by James1987 »

Thank you, in advance, to anyone who can be bothered helping me with this.

Alright, I will try not to waste your precious time so if you want to just buzz ahead to what I need assistance with then please scroll down to the (2) section. Background story under (1).

***** 1) I am a hobbyist programmer and I have some basic knowledge of C/C++/Java.

I play on a private server and I bumped into an issue (obviously, as I am posting here). The closest serverType to the server's client is kRO_RagexeRE_2010_11_24a but the client itself was built on 2010-dec-10th or such. Anyway. There is a packet mismatch happening. I am not sure if it's because of the different built dates or if it's some customisation the private server did to discourage botters.

I have found that the culprit is packet 0858. What's happening is, when an actor "moves" into my screen (packet 0856) everything works well and the bot does not choke up. However when the packet is 0858 (stationary actor coming into view range), the bot cannot extract the coordinates properly, it also does not register the first two characters of the name (if player name is "ILoveStuff" then it registers as "oveStuff"). I understand how the function "makeCoordsDir" extracts the info from this packet. I know that the offset of the "coords" for the packet 0858 from kRO_RagexeRE_2010_11_24a.pm is wrong for my server so I want to move it two bytes to the left and I am having trouble understanding how perl unpack works.

I have attached a packet I captured here:

Code: Select all

67 bytes

0>  58 08 43 00 00 XX XX 24    00 96 00 00 00 00 00 00    X.C..  $........
  16>  00 00 00 00 00 01 00 DB    04 00 00 00 00 00 00 00    ................