Openkore.com

OpenKore Forums
It is currently 04 Apr 2020, 19:59

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Attackskillslot won't work on swordie class | 2.0.7 SVN
PostPosted: 29 Jan 2009, 04:43 
Offline
Human
Human
User avatar

Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 07:25
Posts: 21
Okay. Use the latest stable version - its working for me and try to find a solution. I heard that you are not a noob from your mouth. You could try several things before ask if you reached the begginer level and can configura configs. Thats the start. The SVN version could be really instable. So use the stable one...

_________________
-Openkore User // Begginer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Attackskillslot won't work on swordie class | 2.0.7 SVN
PostPosted: 29 Jan 2009, 16:34 
Offline
Perl Monk
Perl Monk

Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 17:26
Posts: 811
I verified this bug for myself on Kore-RO. My swordy refused to add skill points to Bash or Endure, and only sometimes added them to Provoke. If I removed those skills, it worked fine. This was posted about already, actually. It also happens with a couple other classes, but I forgot which ones. Sigh.

_________________
cs : ee : realist


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Attackskillslot won't work on swordie class | 2.0.7 SVN
PostPosted: 31 Jan 2009, 11:11 
Offline
Noob
Noob

Joined: 28 Jan 2009, 03:45
Posts: 6
I tried downloading 2.0.6.1 to get around the problem...

..and I get this:

Loading tables\recvpackets-pro.txt...
Connecting to account server...
cannot load server parser for server type '21'

Assuming I just need to update my recvpackets-pro.txt file, I copied the one from my 2.0.7. SVN yet I still get the same error.

Any tips?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Attackskillslot won't work on swordie class | 2.0.7 SVN
PostPosted: 01 Feb 2009, 04:49 
Offline
Moderators
Moderators
User avatar

Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 09:30
Posts: 235
Location: My House
is it ? i used SVN in Official idRO and my swordman / Knight can do bash correctly and fine.

_________________
Image
Follow The template in Asking Question or Be Trashed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Attackskillslot won't work on swordie class | 2.0.7 SVN
PostPosted: 01 Feb 2009, 11:13 
Offline
Noob
Noob

Joined: 28 Jan 2009, 03:45
Posts: 6
Alright, adjusted serverType to 0 and got passed the last error. Now I get

Unknown packet - 02EB

So I copied my recvpackets txt from my 2.0.7 SVN and I get another error..

Edit:
I copied my Tables, SRC and Fields folders from SVN into 2.0.6.1 and the program was finally able to get inside ro.

Surprise though, attackskillslot still won't work for Swordsmen class. So both versions 2.0.7 SVN and 2.0.6.1 won't use swordsmen skills? :|


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Attackskillslot won't work on swordie class | 2.0.7 SVN
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2009, 07:46 
Offline
Noob
Noob

Joined: 14 Feb 2009, 14:15
Posts: 4
Hi,
I had the same problem. There seems to be some confusion with
skill names and skill handles.

Look into "tables/skills.txt", there are two entries:
...
5 SM_BASH Bash
...
8201 MS_BASH Bash
...

And when you write in your "config.txt"

attackSkillSlot Bash {
lvl 10
}

the string "Bash" is mapped to the handle "MS_BASH".
But my swordsman doesn't have the skill with handle "MS_BASH",
it has the skill "SM_BASH".

A simple workaround is naming the two skills SM_BASH and MS_BASH
in "skills.txt" differently, like

5 SM_BASH SmBash
...
8201 MS_BASH Bash

and then write in "config.txt"

attackSkillSlot SmBash {
lvl 10
}

Then it works (at least for me).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Attackskillslot won't work on swordie class | 2.0.7 SVN
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2009, 08:38 
Offline
Super Moderators
Super Moderators
User avatar

Joined: 06 May 2008, 12:47
Posts: 801
Moved to: Bug reports

Thanks for the bug report and information Nobbi128.
We now know what is causing all related skill add/use/... bugs.

Problem:
Skill.pm -> hash: %names ->
1) kore stores skillID: 5 in %names under key: Bash
2) kore stores skillID: 8201 in %names under key: Bash (overwriting skillID we had in 1)

The attribute: skillname is not an unique identifier for the entity: SKILL,
hence Kore should not use it as one.
ERD wrote:
SKILL
# id
# handle
* name


Possible fixes/idea's:
- not use duplicate names for the skills (RO client: Bash <-causing violation of standards?-> kore: Bash Swordsman or w/e)
- get rid of lookupIDNByName, and use skillHandle/skillID instead of skillName (skillID & skillHandle are unique identifiers, skillName is not anymore)
- Maybe its possible to get rid of the static (skills.txt) information too and only use the dynamic (server received) information. (however no skillName supplied)
- use/add/... skills according to actor object (homunculus, mercenary, player) and have skillUse/skillAdd/... blocks/configKeys for specifical actors since the skillHandler (SM_ => Swordsman, MS_ => Mercenary Swordsman) is bound to the actor's classTree/job.
(what with GM characters or servers with modified skill_tree.txt (eA) , possible to handle this trough dynamic information?)
- ...

This problem goes beyond just Swordsman & Mercenary Swordsman,
this needs an universal solution so that future bugs like this will not occur.
Also, we need:
- better standards on naming conventions (Swordman vs. Swordsman, etc...)
- server specific table files
- tutorials on how to extract/make those table files
- to use as much as possible straight (conversion) from grf to kore tables, for easier management/maintenance

_________________
One ST0 to rule them all? One PE viewer to find them!
One ST_kRO to bring them all and in the darkness bind them...

Mount Doom awaits us, fellowship of OpenKore!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: r6664 | duplicate skillName's bugging Skill use, add, ...
PostPosted: 31 Jan 2010, 00:11 
Offline
Super Moderators
Super Moderators
User avatar

Joined: 06 May 2008, 12:47
Posts: 801
I think we finally solved this now. :)

_________________
One ST0 to rule them all? One PE viewer to find them!
One ST_kRO to bring them all and in the darkness bind them...

Mount Doom awaits us, fellowship of OpenKore!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group